top of page

Shooting with String Lights: My Perspective

If you follow me on Instagram (@momo.davis), you may know that I love shooting with string lights. I got my own string about a year ago and started experimenting when the trend became popular. In this post I wanted to show you a couple poses you can do with the lights and some creative shots you can try.

The above photos are some that I just took this month. Notice how both of the models' hands are in the shot and holding the lights (more in the second than the first). This shot also helps with lighting the model's face as long as it is held not too close and not too far away. I like this loop method for low light shots and if you want to use the framing technique for the face.

 

Also try just holding the lights in front of the model's face, with no particular shape. If they are too close, the lighting can look a little weird, but there is a sweet spot that you can get a perfect image. Tell the model just to hold it in front of her face with not too many strict instructions. Let the model choose what to do.

 

Have the model interact with the lights. In the first shot, for example, I was looking up at the lights in front of my face. This makes the shot more unique since the model isn't looking at the camera. You could also (as the photographer) hold the lights behind the camera and have your model hold the other end. This makes a cool bokeh affect and is also really unique.

 

Try coiling the lights. In the first shot, I wrapped the lights around the model's body. If you have a strand long enough this can make a great shot. In the second picture, I coiled the lights around my wrist then stretched them out to make it fill the frame

 

That's all! I hope you enjoyed this post! Let me know what you thought and if you like the photography posts, I might write them more often :)

bottom of page