top of page

December Poetry Feature: Shelby Leigh


I'm back! I wanted to take a break from the blog because I've been working really hard with finishing up my semester and promoting my poetry account, which are currently my priorities. Blogging felt too forced for these last couple weeks, but I'm happy to say I'm back!

If you don't know, every two months I write a poetry feature on this blog. I feature authors that I especially love or have been currently reading. This month, I decided to write about a book I picked up this summer called "It Starts Like This" by Shelby Leigh.

This was one of the first poetry books I've read, and it was really beautiful. Shelby writes so simply in a way that is just so true and relatable. Shelby doesn't try to decorate her words with anything fancy, she states what she has to say plainly and with purpose, which is the best and most raw form of expression. My favorite poems included: The Thief, Dew, You Are Like Poetry, Spinning, and Journal. Leigh truly has a gift for writing, and it is evident through her debut work.

Below are some of my favorite poems from the book. Enjoy!

bottom of page