top of page

DIY Oatmeal Nutella Mug Cake

I recently stumbled across this mug cake recipe while perusing pinterest (as one does on weekends) and found this delicious mug cake recipe.

Now, I’m not a great cook. Actually, I kinda suck. (I messed up boiling water once...) but when I saw this recipe, I thought it looked so quick and simple.

I have made mug cakes in the past and they are usually either too dry or slimy or just not good in some way or another. But after trying this recipe, I have begun to believe in the power of a microwave again.

I slightly changed this recipe from the original, so I hope you enjoy this version!

To make this cake, you will need:

1. 3 tbsp milk

2. 1 tbsp applesauce

3. 1 tbsp sugar

4. 3 tbsp flour

5. 2 tbsp dry oats

6. 1 tbsp finely chopped pecans

7. 1/4 tsp baking powder

8. 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

9. 1/2 tsp cinnamon

10. 1 tbsp nutella (for the center of the batter)

Instructions:

1. Whisk the dry ingredients together in an ungreased mug

2. Add the additional ingredients and stir until smooth

3. Optional: add a spoonful of nutella to the center of the cup and push it down gently so it is partially submerged in the batter

4. Put in the microwave for about 1 1/2 minutes, pausing every 30 seconds to check the consistency

5. Let cool and enjoy!

I hope you all enjoyed this recipe and have fun making this cake! Let me know your thoughts on this post and check out more by me :)

bottom of page