top of page

I'm 16 Years Old. But I Don't Let that Stop me.


I used to be obsessed with TED Talks. Basically in a talk, someone will speak in front of an audience about an "idea worth spreading". Influencers share ideas about all different types of topics, and their videos can be viewed here.

Today I wanted to write something similar. I am only 16 years old. But that doesn't mean I have to wait to achieve my goals.

Ever since I was young, I have been a highly ambitious person. I see things that I want and I don't stop working until I achieve those things. This can be a positive thing at times and negative at others (read this post about various obsessions through my life).

For example, I started watching poetry recitations on Youtube and began purchasing some poetry books in late March of 2017. By the beginning of April, I tried my hand at writing poetry. My first poem was downright laughable. The words that I was writing felt forced because I hadn't yet learned to manipulate my emotions into poetic words. I could share my first poem I ever wrote, but for the sake of my dignity, I'll leave it out for now.

I didn't let my lack of experience stop me. I kept working. I wanted to become the best poet of my age. I wanted to master the in's and out's of myself and share it for others. That was when I decided to write a book.

At first, the idea was just a thought like "What would happen if I acted in a film alongside Chris Hemsworth and became rich and famous?" (maybe not that profound but it was certainly a far-fetched dream).

It wasn't until early June that I decided it was going to happen. I would make it happen. I was going to self-publish a book.

I found a site called CreateSpace that lets you self-publish your own work and make it available through Amazon and Barnes & Noble. I set to work and finished the entire book from start to finish by late July.

I was so proud when the first proof copy came in the mail. I couldn't believe that I was barely 16 years old and I was already an author.

The point of that story was to say that you can achieve any dream if you put in hard work and really dedicate yourself to what you love. I am proud to say that I am an author and it only happened because I decided to make my dream a reality.

However, dreams don't always work out the way you planned. Last year, I started this blog. I spent my own money from promoting brands and other affiliate work that I did on promoting my own site. I bought a url and made it my own.

Last year, I thought I would be getting at least 50+ views on each of my blog posts by this time. But right now, I get somewhere between the range of 7-30. That's not a lot at all.

Although my blog isn't as successful as I wish it would be, I am still proud of it. I don't have a large social media following for this site, so it is really hard to promote, but I am happy to be where I am right now.

Things might not always work out the way you expect, but if you set your mind to your ambitions and make your dreams a reality, anything is possible. You just need three things: time, effort, and dedication. With that, you can achieve so much.

I hope this inspired you. ~ With Love, Morgan

bottom of page