top of page

How to Find Photoshoot Locations: My Perspective


Hey everybody, this week, I wanted to write a photography post because I haven't done one in a while. I thought I would share some advice about shoot locations, because it can be hard sometimes to find them on your own. Enjoy!

1. Notice your surroundings as you're driving. If you take a normal route to work, school, etc. each day, notice your surroundings and keep them in mind. If you see a little public field or a wooded lot on the side of the road, those can make great shoot spots! You might even find a flower patch once in a while!

2. Google spots around you. If you search "photoshoot locations near me" there might be some kind of photography forum or blog post with specific locations near you. This is a gamble, as some more common places (like Charlotte) will have results while others (like Weddington) will probably not have as many results. I would suggest trying it out though, just to see if there are suggestions near you.

3. Get lost. If you want to drive around for a little while, you could sometimes find some new places you've never seen before. Go down roads you don't usually go down. Make wrong turns. Be adventurous!

4. Search for parks near you. Parks can be the best shoot locations, so it's great to look for some close to you. Sometimes there are flower patches, lakes, forests, wheat fields, etc. I love doing nature and rustic photography, so I would suggest finding some kind of park or hiking trail or something similar.

5. Ask around. There are several ways you could ask other people about shoot locations near you. You could post on a photography forum online. You could ask some friends (who might also shoot) where they like to go. I think the best way is to comment on someone's Instagram post (who lives somewhere near you and posts a photo with a good background) and ask them where they shot.

Now, I thought I would share my top shoot locations!

1. Frank Liske Park. This park is closer to where I used to live and much further from me now, but I still like to go there from time to time. It has a vast wooded area, a lake, and a gorgeous flower patch along with a wheat field. Basically, this is everything a nature photographer could ask for.

2. Uptown Charlotte. I like this area for daytime and night life shoots because it has great structural buildings and scrollable streets. If you are more of a city life photographer, this is a great spot!

3. Downtown Matthews. I love Downtown Matthews because it has great vibes and is such a cute, quaint area. It's great for vintage shots and semi-cityscape. Overall, this is just a beautiful place to shoot.

4. NoDa. North Davidson is a popular art district in Charlotte, really close to Uptown. It is similar to Downtown Matthews, because it has a quaint feel as well, but is also bursting with vibrant color and modern art.

That's all! I hope you enjoyed reading this post, let me know your favorite shoot locations!

bottom of page