top of page

The Loveliest Poet: Cheyenne Raine


Cheyenne Raine is a beautifully artistic poet who shares her poetry style and sweet words on her daily Instagram posts. Full of light and inspiration, she puts a smile on her readers' faces.

Raine began writing poetry when she was about seven years old because she found it fun and fascinating.

As time progressed, she experimented with different creative writing styles until making her way back to poetry in high school, which is when she began sharing her poems on social media.

She was inspired to become a published author after her teacher gave a speech at a college telling the students to keep an eye out for her name on a collection of poetry in the near future.

“He believed that I would publish my words for the world to have in their homes," Raine said. "That was when I decided that I wanted to be an author. Not just a writer, but a woman with words that were placed neatly into a creamy page."

Sure enough, Raine decided to self-publish several collections of poetry soon after.

“I liked the idea of being in charge of everything and doing it all by myself,” Raine said. “It made book writing special for me.”

Raine has difficulty promoting her books, but her main goal isn't to have the most followers on social media or to make a huge profit off of her writing.

“I don’t care too much for how many books I sell, rather, I want to make sure that those who do purchase my books are met with kindness, healing, light, and love in my work,” Raine said.

It wasn't always easy when Raine was on her path to writing a book. Being a college student and finding free time to write was challenging, along with occasional creative difficulties.

“I had writer’s block when I first started college, as I was so busy and worried about school that my creative side didn’t receive much attention,” Raine said. “Yet, lately, I’ve been getting to know some of my poet-friends and met some lovely humans that inspire me and give me words, even as they leave me speechless. And, so, even when I am in a hard time or uninspired moment, I somehow manage to breathe and let something flow out of me, whether it be poetry, prose, stories, art, or whatever my little soul sees fit to create.”

Raine has evolved as a writer and poet over the years, and it is evident through her work.

“In the beginning of my writing career, I was so obsessed with having rhyming endings and capitalizing the first letter in every line. Now, I write in lower case, only capitalizing references to God. I like to remind myself that I am a very small being in this wonderful world He created," Raine said. "Now, pieces come out like a river, a steady flow that rolls off my tongue."

Most inspired by the beautiful things and people around her, Raine has many things to write about and experience each day.

“Mother nature is so sweet and messy and perfect. Her every season, phase, place, weather, time; is breathtaking. I also cherish strangers, they have wild stories and words to share. Mostly, though, I adore and find myself lost in thought when it comes to individuals that have showered me with nothing but kindness, patience, love and silly adventures. I don’t keep up with too many people, but there are a handful that I cannot do without and they are the ones that my poems usually refer to,” Raine said.

Raine encourages young writers and poets to pursue creative writing with no restraints or hesitation.

“I think, if you feel the need to write, you should write. There is no right or wrong way. Break the rules. Make art from your emotions and experiences. Dip your feet into words, let them spill,” Raine said. “The possibilities are endless!”

Writing has shaped Raine's personality and the way she views life; she has become a bright soul with endless positivity and encouragement.

“I’ve been through so much and I’ve become kinder with time and my soul. I can see that I am curious and attentive. I used to mindlessly let words pour out, now, they are more focused and in tune with whatever I am doing and wherever I am, whoever I am writing to and however I feel,” Raine said. “Becoming who I am today and who I’ll be tomorrow is my greatest accomplishment.”

Raine is hopeful for the future, hoping to continue writing and meeting others through her work.

“I hope I’ll be reciting poems in old coffee shops. I hope I’ll have a home with a sweet soul, but, if I am alone, I hope my space is full of my future pet snakes and puppies. I hope that I’ll have a list of places to travel to hanging on one of my walls, with check marks by at least half of them. I hope I’ll meet and greet all of my poet-friends and my lovely readers! One day I’ll see everyone’s face and remember their names and their voices," Raine said. "I don’t know where I’ll be in ten years, but, I hope it’s lovely and easy to breathe by then. I’m excited to see where my words and dreams take me!”

bottom of page