top of page

Current Favorite Songs


If you know me at all, you know that my music taste is something I am very proud of. I have spent hours hunting for lesser known artists and tracks and my taste stretches across many different genres. I thought I would write a blog post today about my current favorite songs so you can possibly find something you like too! All of the songs are organized into genres and description so you can scroll to whatever interests you. If you would just like to listen to all of the songs, my Spotify playlist is available.

Rock/Blues Rock ~ Blues rock is a fusion genre combining elements of blues and rock. It is mostly an electric ensemble-style music with instrumentation similar to electric blues and rock.

1. Something to Believe in by Young the Giant

2. No Good by Kaleo

3. Believer by Imagine Dragons

4. The Greatest by Alabama Shakes

5. Miss you by Alabama Shakes

6. Rise to the Sun by Alabama Shakes

7. Don't Wanna Fight by Alabama Shakes

8. Gimme All Your Love by Alabama Shakes

9. Way Down We Go by Kaleo

10. I Can't Go On Without You by Kaleo

11. My Time Now by Julia Harriman

12. Gun in My Hand by Dorothy

Pop ~ The immense popularity of pop music, in part, has to do with its musical characteristics of being catchy, short, simple and melodic.

1. Garden by Emeli Sandé

2. Sweet Architect by Emeli Sandé

3. Roll Up Your Sleeves by Meg Mac

4. Drink you Away by Justin Timberlake

5. Say you Love me by Jessie Ware

6. Love on the Brain by Rihanna

7. Ride by Twenty One Pilots

8. Never Be by Meg Mac

9. Can't Sleep Love by Pentatonix

10. Ghost by Ella Henderson

11. Reaper by Sia

12. Half the Man by Rozzi Crane

13. You Don't Own Me by Grace, G-Easy

14. Psycho by Rozzie Crane

Electropop ~ A style of popular music characterized by the use of electronically created sounds, with a synthesizer as the primary instrument.

1. Got it by Marian Hill

2. Happy Love by ROMANS

3. Coloring Outside the Lines by MisterWives

4. All Time Low by Jon Bellion

5. I Want You by Marian Hill

6. Dead by Madison Beer

7. Naked by X Ambassadors

8. Low Life by X Ambassadors

9. Mistaken by Marian Hill

10. Down by Marian Hill

11. Scared to Be Lonely by Martin Garrix, Dua Lipa

12. Show Me by Alina Baraz, Galimatias

Alternative/Indie ~ Indie music is music produced independently from major commercial record labels or their subsidiaries. Alternative music is not played on mainstream radio or consumed by the mainstream audience, or whose music does not fall into any other genre.

1. Mr. Know-It-All by Young the Giant

2. Sleep On The Floor by The Lumineers

3. Shiver Shiver by Walk the Moon

4. Everybody Talks by Neon Trees

5. Fake it by Bastille

6. Dog Days are Over by Florence + The Machine

7. Jungle by X Ambassadors

8. I Can't Keep up With You by Arlissa

9. Ophelia by The Lumineers

10. New Constellations by Ryn Weaver

11. Uh Huh by Julia Michaels

12. Put the Gun Down by ZZ Ward

13. What's it Gonna Be by Arlissa

14. All the Pretty Girls by Kaleo

15. Nobody Love by Tori Kelly

R&B/Contemporary R&B ~ R&B is almost always used instead of the full rhythm and blues. Contemporary R&B is a newer version of soul and funk-influenced pop music.

1. Can't Rely on You by Paloma Faith

2. Take Me by Paloma Faith

3. Trouble with my Baby by Paloma Faith

4. You Know I'm no Good by Amy Winehouse

5. Only Love can Hurt like this by Paloma Faith

6. I'd Rather Go Blind - Live by Paloma Faith, Ty Taylor

7. Give Me Something by Emeli Sandé

8. He Can Only Hold Her by Amy Winehouse

Melody Music ~ The voice is the primary focus of the song, where the singer uses his or her voice as an instrument rather than just a voice.

1. Daydreamin' by Ariana Grande

2. Baby Darling by Julia Harriman

3. I Surrender by Arlissa

4. You and Me - Piano Version by Eliza Doolittle

5. Sign of the Times by Harry Styles

6. Unsteady by X Ambassadors

7. Million Reasons by Lady Gaga

8. I Am - Acoustic by Leona Lewis

9. Instead by Ryan Amador

10. Stone Cold by Demi Lovato

11. Make You Mine by Julia Harriman

12. Another Day by Julia Harriman

13. We Don't Have to Take Our Clothes Off by Ella Eyre

14. Thunder - Acoustic by Leona Lewis

15. Hearts Ain't Gonna Lie by Arlissa

I hope you enjoyed reading about my favorite songs and hopefully you check some of them out! Let me know if you liked this post, and be sure to check out more, and subscribe!

bottom of page