top of page

❋ Spring Favorites ❋


Since school is out for the summer, I thought I would write a post about my favorite products from the last couple months. I organized everything into categories, and provided links for each product. Enjoy!

Entertainment:

This collection of poetry and prose is all about experiencing violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. Each of the four chapters deals with another issue and it is truly moving. I got this around Easter time and read the whole book in one sitting. It is a quick read and certainly one of my favorite books.

2. Scandal TV Show ~ full seasons available on Netflix

I started Scandal on Netflix from the beginning, and was instantly captivated. This show is from the brilliant mind of Shonda Rhimes, whom is also responsible for the making of Grey's Anatomy. "Everyone has secrets… and Olivia Pope (Kerry Washington) has dedicated her life to protecting and defending the public images of the nation's elite by keeping those secrets under wraps. Pope's team are at the top of their game when it comes to getting the job done for their clients, but it becomes apparent that these "gladiators in suits," who specialize in fixing the lives of other people, have trouble fixing those closest at hand -- their own," according to ABC.

3. Lost ~ full seasons available on Netflix

When this show first came out, it was a bombshell. Unlike any other show, it is "a drama series containing elements of science fiction and the supernatural. It follows the survivors of the crash of a commercial passenger jet, flying between Sydney and Los Angeles, on a mysterious tropical island somewhere in the South Pacific Ocean," according to Wikipedia. The series is about their journey to discover how to get off the island, and there are twists and turns along the way, with high strung cliffhangers and adrenaline rushing scenes.

I got this chapbook because I have recently been obsessed with poetry. This is Jennae Cecelia's first published chapbook, and it "is for the hopeless romantics and those who need a friend to comfort their late night thoughts. It’s a book made with love about falling in and out of love with yourself, and others," according to Amazon. It is really cheap and ships quickly on Amazon, so if you are a fan of poetry I highly suggest you get this.

5. La La Land ~ rent for $5.99 purchase for $16.99

"The story of Mia, an aspiring actress, and Sebastian, a dedicated jazz musician, struggling to make ends meet while pursuing their dreams in a city known for destroying hopes and breaking hearts. With modern day Los Angeles as the backdrop, this musical about everyday life explores what is more important: a once-in-a-lifetime love or the spotlight," according to IMDb. I watched this in the theater and it was full of eccentric, feel-good songs. If you are a fan of musicals, be sure to check out this Oscar winner.

Beauty:

This contour stick has been a staple in my makeup bag for a while. I have gone back and forth between cream and powder contour, and have recently favored cream contour followed by powdered bronzer. I use the medium shade and it gives me a nice glowy bronze, which is great for the upcoming summer season! You can build it up for dramatic dimension or blend it out for a natural look.

As I have stated, I have recently been into a bronze and natural look. This warm tone nude/beige is very subtle and perfect for bronzey looks. I suggest purchasing the lip liner and lip stick together, because they are both reasonably priced and have a creamy formula which makes it easy to apply.

I received a sample of this product in a Birchbox and when I saw that it was an anti-frizz cream, I was upset. Although I have rather frizzy hair, I have never had an anti-frizz cream that has really worked. So whenever I get a sample of anti-frizz cream, I am disappointed because I don't expect it to work. This one, however, has helped my curls stay hydrated and defined. I highly suggest trying this out if you have naturally frizzy hair.

I also received this item in a Birchbox and have had it for quite a while without much use. Recently, however, I have used it more and it also helps give me that dewy glow. The highlight it more bronzey and warmer toned than my other highlights, and it helps bring a soft shimmer to my cheekbones.

I have written about how much I love this palette before, and it has been a staple in my makeup bag ever since I got it. It contains 9 shadows with mattes, shimmers, cool tones, warm tones, lights, darks, etc. It also has ultra pigmented bronzer, highlighter, and blush. To summarize, this palette really has it all. Using the golden and glowy looks gives me that nice bronze look that I really favor and using the cooler tones gives a more sultry and elegant look. This palette goes on and off sale and is only available for a little longer so I suggest you get your hands on one if you can!

If you want to see more of my favorite makeup items, check out my blog post here.

Clothing & Accessories:

1. Kale sweatshirt ~ $18.54

I got this sweatshirt around February this year, and it has become a staple item in my wardrobe. It looks like the Yale collegiate sweatshirt and Beyoncé popularized it in her 7/11 music video. There are many different styles and makes, but this one is really high quality and durable. The screen print hasn't faded at all in the wash and it hasn't pilled. I wear this on lazy, bumming days and it is great for year round.

I purchased this ring a couple weeks ago because I was looking for a sterling silver ring that would not tarnish even if I wore it every day. This certainly is great quality and worth the price and it is such a cute design.

I have this choker in white and it is perfect for my sassier looks. I have recently been wearing crop tops and distressed shorts and this choker is really a bold accessory that completes any look.

These trendy retro sunglasses have also been a staple in my wardrobe. They look bold and sassy and I think everything ties together to make a great pair of sunglasses! They are great quality and I'm really glad I got them because they are worth the price.

This bag is high quality for a cheap price. I personally really like the shape of it because it's very unique and the perfect size. I don't carry a lot around with me, so having this small bag is really helpful compared to when i would just carry my wallet as a clutch.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my Spring favorites. If you like this kind of post, make sure to let me know. Also be sure to subscribe and check out more posts!

bottom of page