top of page

November Ipsy vs Birchbox


I received my Ipsy and Birchbox boxes for November a couple weeks ago, and forgot to make a blog post about it! If you like this post, you can read other ones here. Also, remember to subscribe and let me know what you think!

Birchbox month's theme: The Finishing Touch

1. Supergoop! Forever Young Hand Cream (.53$) I really liked this hand cream because especially in winter my hands get really dry. Since it's travel size, I can take it with me and use it whenever my hands get dry. I think it could have been a little bigger because it is only worth about 50 cents. It doesn't feel really greasy and it has a matte feeling.

2. Chella Eyebrow Pencil (20$) I love that this was included because eyebrow pencils are full sized and this one was great quality! It's really fine tipped so I use it for shaping. The color also matches really well and it's easy to apply. I think this is my favorite item that was included in the box.

3. Coastal Scents Blush and Bronzer Palette (.30$) This was my least favorite item included because I have several different highlighters and blushes and I really don't want anymore unless they are amazing. Honestly, this sampler was really underwhelming. The blush was a pretty shade but I prefer the ones that I already have.

4. R+Co Death Valley Dry Shampoo (7.40$) I have always wanted to try the brand R+Co because I've heard great things about it, especially the dry shampoo. It has a very subtle fresh scent and it really blends well. I prefer using my Lush dry shampoo because aerosol cans usually make my hair feel wet. This one was really great quality and I plan to purchase the full size.

5. Balance Me Tinted Wonder Eye Cream (12.70$) This is a very expensive product at retail value and I really liked trying it. I usually wouldn't use tinted creams but I think it helps enhance my under eye bags before I put on my makeup. This evens out my skin tone and helps prep my eyes for concealer. I wouldn't purchase the full size because of the price but I will use this whole sample.

Final thoughts: I think the value of this box was amazing! Usually I get about 25$ worth of products but this month I got 41$ worth! I was really surprised that I received the balance me eye cream and the Chella eyebrow pencil. However, I was upset that I got two products that weren't even worth a dollar put together. I think all of the products fit the theme perfectly, except for the tinted moisturizer because it is more of a prepping item than a finishing item.

Ipsy month's theme: RockStarlet

1. Verb Ghost Oil (4$) This was my favorite item in the bag because my hair is naturally very curly and frizzy. I have four or five hair oils already and I use them every day. This is my favorite one now because it really takes the frizz out without making my hair look wet or greasy. I am planning on purchasing the full size when I run out.

2. theBalm Cosmetics Mad Lash Mascara (about 4$) I usually hate receiving mascara samples because I already have several full sized ones I use daily. I really like theBalm Cosmetics so I thought I would try it. After using this, my lashes looked long and thin. I like that it adds volume, length, and extension. Usually mascaras make lashes really thin when they get long but this one has a nice balance between thickness and length.

3. LAQA & Co. B'lighter in Preacher's Daughter (about 5$) This is called a B'lighter because it is a blush and a highlighter! It is a really subtle shimmery highlight and it has a soft rosy tint. I like using this for natural looks as opposed to my super shimmery one for full face looks. I don't plan on purchasing the full size but I'll definitely use this one up!

4. Skone Cosmetics Brow Wand Eyebrow Pencil in Chocolate (18$) I was surprised that I received an eyebrow pencil in both bags this month. This one felt really cheap and it was more difficult to apply. The tip was also really big so it wasn't good for details. It was also too dark for me so I just gave it to my mom.

5. Benefit Cosmetics the POREfessional Face Primer (3$) I have purchased this product twice because it works great for greasy skin or large pores. I have oily skin so this is really helpful for me when I'm applying makeup. I wish it was a bigger size, but this is a really expensive and high quality brand so I can understand why they had to make it smaller.

Final Thoughts: My favorite items were the hair oil and the B'lighter. I really didn't like the eyebrow pencil so that was my least favorite item. This bag was less valuable than Birchbox, coming around at about 34$. I do like that expensive brands like Benefit and theBalm cosmetics were included, however. The products included don't really make me think of a rock star, I think my bag would be better with a natural theme.

Who Wins? I think Birchbox it the obvious winner because of the tinted moisturizer, dry shampoo, and the eyebrow pencil. Both boxes are really good and full of great stuff though! I will be writing a December review as well so subscribe so you don't miss that! Thanks for reading!

bottom of page