top of page

Photography: My Perspective


I have always loved expressing my creativity through photography and it is one of the things that defines who I am. I wanted to show you how to develop a unique perspective or enhance the one you already have. I came up with these tips myself and put a lot of thought into them so I hope you enjoy. Refer to my gallery for some examples of the topics discussed in this post. Also, if you want more photography tips, let me know; you can contact me through the about page.

L A D D E R S

This is a simple acronym that I have come up with that compacts the basic photography musts. I have put a lot of thought into each topic, so I think this is the perfect concise goal to keep in mind when taking pictures.

L stands for Lighting. Lighting is one of the most important aspects of photography. If you are shooting outside under a bright sun (as I often do), find shadows or darker spots. Over-exposure cannot always be fixed through editing, and it's a real shame if you can't fix a great picture! To avoid harsh light, make sure you are shooting at a good time of day. Midday is when the sun is the most intense so unless you are shooting predominately in the shade, avoid this time. I like to at 'golden hour' (which is from 5-7 at night depending on the season) when the lighting is very soft, warm, and complementary to my model.

A stands for Angles. I think that angles are the most impactful part of a picture. If you are shooting with someone for the first time, it may take a little more time to find their most complementary angles, but it's always reasonably easy. For most professional portrait shots, keep the angles straight on, and simple. When doing creative photography, you can take more risks with your angles. I absolutely love playing with dramatic angles and suggest that you try your hand at it as well. Through angles you can show emotion, action, and articulation. If you are new to photography, it may take a little longer to become adept at these skills, but you'll gain a better understanding over time through practice.

D stands for Distinction. When capturing photos, you may have a go-to shot, pose, angle, etc. that sets your photography apart from others. This is a very useful skill. Distinction can be interpreted in different ways; like being distinct through a certain preset filter, or a style of photography, but it is important to stay different. I used to find pictures on the internet and try to recreate them in my photoshoots, which can be a great thing, but try to add your own flair to it instead of just copying another image. Taking risks is essential when defining yourself as a photographer.

D stands for Diversity. You must always be ready to step outside of the box and expand your photography knowledge. This is an essential skill to master photography. If you are always taking the same pose in front of a pretty background, you won't be able to grow as a photographer. You have to expand and nurture your creativity and be willing to step outside of your comfort zone. This takes a little bit of time to get used to, but it will soon become second nature when you are taking photos. Changing things up once in a while can be difficult, but do not be afraid to take some risks!

E stands for Equipment & Editing. Equipment is so essential for taking great pictures. If you are passionate about photography, don't hesitate to purchase a good camera. I own a Canon Rebel T5 starter pack and I love it. It has been a great camera for my purposes and takes really beautiful pictures. Of course, you could use your phone if you are just starting out, but it is certainly a great investment if you are serious about photography.

Editing is also very important. To edit the pictures, I simply use my computer to move the photos from my memory card to my lightning flash drive and after plugging it into my phone, I can save and edit all of my photos in full resolution. Ever since I discovered Adobe's Lightroom I have not used any other app for editing. You can download and use it for free and the tools available are outstanding. Editing is another way to set yourself apart so it is essential to choose a good editing software that you can become experienced with.

R stands for Relax & React. This isn't really for the photographer, but for the model in the pictures. Assuming that you're going to do portrait/people photography, this is probably the most important step. Tell your subject to relax if they aren't used to having a camera pointed at them. I have noticed that when taking pictures of someone the first time, they can be stiff and uncomfortable and that makes for some awkward pictures. Talking to them while taking pictures can be reassuring, and make them more comfortable. I like to crack some jokes to get candid laughing shots.

Reacting to the environment may sound strange, but it makes for some great poses. I hate cheesy posed pictures because they look really fake. When the subject genuinely reacts to the trees, sky, leaves (depending on where you're shooting); it shows emotion, action, and detail. If done right, it can look natural and like you're just taking cameo shots even though they're posed. Basically if you're outside, have your subject look slightly up at the sky, or lean against a tree, etc.

S stands for Scenery. This is also one of the most important aspects of a photo. If you are doing a shoot in your house, try to find a blank wall so that it looks like a studio shot. If you're shooting outside, avoid getting the road, cars, people, and other distracting objects in the background. I used to take pictures and get cars and people in the background which makes the pictures look so much less professional. Just be aware of your surroundings while shooting.

In summary: shoot in soft light that is complementary to a model, rather than harsh and over-exposed light that drowns out your subject. Take risks with your angles to show distinction. Try new things that you may not be used to so that you have a wide skill set. If you're passionate about photography, investing in good camera equipment is a good choice. Editing is the most impactful step of the process, so make sure that you learn what looks best when enhancing. Keep your subject cool and comfortable behind the camera to get the best shots. Make sure your location is subtle and doesn't take attention away from the model. Let the scene and subject coincide instead of clash.

That's it! I hope you found this useful and instructive. I have been very passionate about photography for a while and wanted to share some of my tips in hopes that others will find it helpful as well. If you liked this post check out more and follow me on Instagram. Thanks again!

bottom of page