top of page
  • Writer's pictureMorgan Davis

I'm Writing Another Book!


As you may know, I recently wrote a poetry book called "Finding Roots: A Poetic Guide Through Love, Loss, and Healing." I have been working on a second book for a while, called "Rose Petal Breath." This post is all about the new book and will include some exclusive first looks!


So let's start with the name: Rose Petal Breath. What does it mean? Well I have always loved roses and they mean a lot to me especially because my grandma loved yellow roses. The idea of having breath that smells like rose petals means that the book is filled with lovely, beautiful things. One with sweet breath speaks about sweet things. My previous book was split into three sections: Love, Loss, and Healing. Rose Petal Breath is similar, but without the "loss" section. 


How long will it be and how much will it cost? Nothing is certain yet, but I am hoping to make the book 90 pages. That's just over 80 poems! Since that is 30 poems more than Finding Roots, I decided to raise the price by $1.45. So the price for a paperback copy on Amazon will most likely be $6.95. 


When will it come out? I'm not 100% sure on the details yet, but I hope to release the book by late February, early March at the latest.


So what does the cover look like? At first, I was asking some artists on Instagram to draw a cover design for me, but I thought it would be more personal if I did the illustrations like in Finding Roots. I tried to make the cover look like a person breathing out a rose. This parallels the meaning of the title, and it is a simple drawing, which I really like. 


Now I want to show you a couple of the poems in Rose Petal Breath to give you an idea of what the content will look like.  


And I spoke

lovely things

because I knew

you would listen.

- Rose Petal Breath


As I walked along

the seaside,

I painted waves in the sand

with my toes

and the salty air

gently misted my skin.

- I kissed nature and it kissed me back


Close your eyes.

Kiss the sky.

Fill and empty your lungs.

- life goes on


She painted the nectar

from beautiful flowers

onto her stained cheeks

and stranded golden sunlight

through her hair.

- the essence of perfection


When I saw you I knew

starlight would drip

from our fingertips

as we touched.

I knew were were

destined to be

by the stars.

- from first glance


I cried rose petals

and bled starlight.

You wanted to see 

destruction

but I showed you beauty.

- lovely strengthening


Well that's a couple little sneak peaks at my book! I hope you love it as much as I do! Let me know your thoughts or if you have any feedback. 

4 views0 comments
bottom of page